what I’m reading

A Walk in the Woods
Bill Bryson

This is the fifth or so time I’ve read this book all the way through.  I use it in my Developmental English classes so they have something to write about for their grammar essays.  I have to be in the right mindset to enjoy Bryson (typically, a patient one) but as a whole I really enjoy his writing.  This book in particular is more accessible than some of his others.  If you haven’t read anything of Bryson’s, it’s a good place to start.

However, it can be a bit heavy at times, as he loves to go off on tangents to describe trees or history or such.  My students either love it or hate it.

Leave a Reply

