What I’m reading

I’m currently reading:

Uglies
Scott Westerfeld

This book had quite the recommendation, so I decided to give it a shot.  When I was about halfway through, I found it to be very predictable.  Now that I’m nearing the end, I’ve been surprised a bit more and I’m getting a little intrigued to see what happens.  Since it’s YA, I suppose I’m not the target audience, but I find some of the best YA novels can translate across age groups.  I’m not sure yet if this series does that, but we’ll see.

4 Comments to “What I’m reading”

  1. It’s supposed to be good. I tried, but I couldn’t get into it (or even finish it) but maybe I didn’t give it enough of a chance.

  2. I finished it this afternoon and I’m not sure if I will pick up the sequel. I might if I’m really desperate, but the blurb for the second book didn’t really entice me.

    Maybe I would’ve found it more enthralling if I was a 14-year-old girl.

  3. You know, I have read a couple of Scott Westerfeld’s books, and I always have that problem. Interesting beginnings, dull middles, interesting changes at the end. But I never want to read another one. I think I just don’t much care for his writing style.

  4. Yeah, I find the potential of the book to me more fascinating than the book itself. And a lot of that does have to do with the writing style. It’s just not exciting enough for the material.

Leave a Reply

