What I’m reading

I’m currently reading:

Dead Until Dark
Charlaine Harris

This is my first foray into the Sookie Stackhouse books, having seen the first and (most of the) second seasons of True Blood.  I’m wildly enamoured with the TV series already, seeing it as a rather revolutionary concept in the wide world of vampires.

I’m about halfway through this book.  The writing style doesn’t sit completely right with me, sometimes a little too choppy and short with describing things.  Sometimes I think I might be confused if I didn’t already know the characters and plot.  However, Charlaine Harris also writes mysteries, so this could just be that point-of-view coming out.  I’m not a girl who partiularly craves mysteries – not in the sense of a pure mystery novel anyway – so this could just be a personal preference issue.

In any case, it just started getting good, so I’ll definitely finish it and pick up at least another one in the series.

One Comment to “What I’m reading”

  1. The books are definitely great “fluff” reading, but I think you will be SO tired of Sookie as early on as Book 2. But they’re definitely fun escape novels.

Leave a Reply

