What’s in a Name?

I’m a writer.  More importantly, I’m a writer who likes to make up stuff instead of just writing about different subjects.  One of my favorite things to make up are names.  Seriously.  If you looked at my Sims2 neighborhood, you’d see that about 70% of the Sims have names that don’t exist in baby books.

Making up names is so freakin’ fun.

1. My husband’s cats’ names are Phil, Bill, and Simon.  When I care to think of them as my cats (that is, a day when they are being less annoying than usual), they are Philip or Philly Cheesesteak, Billy or Billy Boy, and Siiiimon.  Simon is really hard to turn into a silly nickname.

2. My husband’s real name is David.  He introduced himself to me as Dave, so I call him Dave.  I would call him Davey if it weren’t for the fact that I’d get dirty looks.  And a dirty look from Dave is a serious issue.

3. My computer is called my compy.  See?  I have issues.

4. My childhood doggy was named Lucy.  Lucy-goosie.  Her daughter is called Lola.  Loli-boli.

The sickness really doesn’t end there.

I’m not sure where my obsession came from.  It may have come from the fact that I have a first name that has boggled the tongues of hundreds my whole life.  Since I have gotten married, it’s only gotten worse.

1.  My real name is Alicia Maria Hernandez-Burr.  It’s a mouthful, I know.  Hernandez-Burr rolls off the tongue, doesn’t it?  I’m not really sure yet what I want to go by as a writer.  A. M. Hernandez-Burr?  A. Maria Hernandez-Burr?  A. M. H-B is fun, but I don’t think publishers would go for it.  More than once I’ve wished for a simple name.

2. My first name is Alicia.  That’s pronounced Ah-lee-see-ah.  Not Alisha.  Not Ah-lee-she-ah.  I’ll forgive the occasional teacher or random person who can’t get it right – even after I’ve introduced myself, they still get it wrong.  But, really, my own family can’t say it right.  My own grandmother calls me Lici.  This is not the first of my many nicknames.

3. Ally.  That happened throughout high school.

4. Ari.  That happened in college.  It’s a shortened version of Arishia, which is my name pronounced with a Japanese accent.  Ha.

5. Lis.  This is my current, given to me by my hubby.  It’s pronounced Leese, like geese.  Or Greece.  Or grease.

Anyway, the point is that you’ll probably find me coming back to this subject throughout this blog.  And I’ll probably refer to myself with different names, depending on who is in the subject with me.

Try not to get confused.

Leave a Reply

